Merton Blog 2

After the first few weeks (and honestly for the rest of the semester) I stayed fairly consistent to the practice, but still missed or found myself unmotivated from time to time. I realized how I felt less motivated when I was frustrated, something Jesus speaks to specifically. I also found myself reflecting a lot on the question: is prayer for me encouraging because I am relating to God, or because I am learning? I truly enjoy learning and thinking, and a lot of times I experience a time of prayer that seemed encouraging, I look back and find that it was the exact same feeling I get when I am totally challenged by a particular author or idea. I did not ask this questions because I felt like it was a dualism, either it is learning (intellectual experience), or relating to God (personal experience). But on the other hand it seemed like an important thing to break down. I still struggle with this dilemma.

Leave a Reply

